The Breadmakers Saga

The Breadmakers Saga

Availability: In stock

Published: 16th March 2012
Format: Paperback 198x129mm
Extent: 600 pages
ISBN: 9781845024161
RRP: £9.99

Read a sample here:

Download as an eBook

RRP: £1.99
ePub ISBN: 9781845025601
Published: 29th March 2012

Available from...

The Breadmakers Saga on Kindle The Breadmakers Saga on iBooks


The Breadmakers Saga follows the story of a Glasgow working class community living through the dark days of the Depression and the Second World War. Clydend, McNair's Bakery and the surrounding tenements, are all vividly and absorbingly depicted, as are the lives and loves of people like Catriona, a young woman trying to cope with an overbearing husband; the forman baker Baldy Fowler and his tragic wife, Sarah; Alec Jackson, philandering insurance salesman; and a host of other colourful characters, who face up to the ordinary challenges of life and the extraordinary challenges of war with honesty, optimism and hope.


Sorry, no reviews currently available.

Margaret Thomson Davis

Margaret Thomson Davis is the author of over 20 novels, the best known of which is The Breadmakers, first published in 1972. Still in print, it was described in the Daily Express as a 'Glaswegian Coronation Street'. Her other books include The Clydesiders Trilogy, The Tobacco Lords, A Deadly Deception and her last novel, the hugely successful Goodmans of Glassford Street.

Product Tags

Use spaces to separate tags. Use single quotes (') for phrases.