The Wax Fruit Trilogy

The Wax Fruit Trilogy


  • £2.99
    Unit price per 


The Wax Fruit Trilogy brings together Guy McCrone's three classic novels, Antimacassar City, The Philistines, and The Puritans, which chronicle the life and times of the Moorhouse family as they rise from the obscurity of an Ayrshire farm to the position of great prosperity in Victorian Glasgow. The first part of the trilogy introduces the Moorhouse family - Arthur, the successful business man and first of the family to move to Glasgow; David, the dashing and impulsive socialite; Bel, driven by ruthless social ambition; and, Pheobe, the half-sister from the Highlands who grows up to be a great beauty. The second and third volumes follow the changing fortunes of the family, as their lives are touched by triumph and tragedy - in Glasgow at the height of the Victorian era, and in Vienna, glittering capital of the Hapsburg Empire.

Product Details

Published: 16th March 2012
Format: Paperback 198x129mm
Extent: 624 pages
ISBN: 9781845024178


Guy McCrone (1898-1977) was born in Birkenhead. He was educated at Glasgow Academy, going on to read modern languages at Pembroke College, Cambridge, before studying singing in Vienna. Glasgow provided the inspiration for many of McCrone's novels, including Antimacassar CityThe Philistines and The Puritans, which were published as Wax Fruit in 1947. McCrone retired to the Lake District in 1968, where he died at Windermere in May 1977.


Sorry, no reviews currently available.

We Also Recommend